Customer satisfaction management - Scored assessment

Managing and continually improving customer satisfaction drives commercial success.

Satisfied customers are key to any company. Loyal customers generate repeated orders and are less susceptible to buying from a competitor.  The ISO 10001-2-3-4 customer satisfaction management (CSM) standards can be applied to ensure continual improvement of customer experiences.

Many organizations, even those certified to quality management standards such as ISO 9001, have a reactive approach to customer satisfaction management. Primarily reacting to complaints, they will often fail to use lessons learned to prevent future dissatisfaction. While employees often dread dealing with unhappy customers, top management fails to understand the importance of robust channels allowing for customer feedback and follow-up.

What is ISO 10001-2-3-4 

The four guidance standards, i.e. ISO 10001-2-3-4, assist organizations in managing customer satisfaction. As guidelines, they are not meant for certification purposes but ideal to monitor and improve the performance level of your organization in a structured way. The various standards cover different aspects:

  • ISO 10001 applies to planning, designing, developing, implementing, maintaining and improving customer satisfaction codes of conduct.
  • ISO 10002 is specific to the process of complaint-handling on products or services within an organization.
  • ISO 10003 helps an organization plan, design, develop, operate, maintain and improve an effective and efficient dispute-resolution process for complaints not been resolved by the organization.
  • ISO 10004 applies to defining and implementing processes to monitor and measure customer satisfaction.

Benefits of scored assessment

While the standards are not certifiable, we use a scored assessment protocol to measure compliance with the guidelines’ best-practices. You can choose to be assessed to one or more of the standards in one go. 

The consequent report provides:

  • Full visibility on the effectiveness, strengths, weaknesses, risks and opportunities for CSM improvement.
  • Internal benchmark and input to any KPIs assessment.
  • Support in an organization’s own self-assessments
  • Transparency on the organization’s CSM performance, which can raise internal morale
  • Evidence of progress, compliance and performance, which can be shared with suppliers and customers

Effective management of customer satisfaction is paramount for any organization’s long-term success and resilience. 

How it works 

DNV’s Customer Satisfaction Management-Score Assessment Protocol is divided into 3 levels. This facilitates the organization’s journey and supports CSM improvement over time.  

The assessment can be performed as an extension of traditional quality system certification audits to standards, such as ISO 9001, AS/EN 9100 or ISO 13485, or as a stand-alone activity. An assessment statement will be issued to organizations scoring at level 1 or above (on 1-3 scale). Performed by an independent third party like DNV, our CSM scored assessments can help you build business resilience, customer and stakeholder trust. 



Relevant insight in an active learning environment.

  Your added value

Your added value

Find out more on the digital customer experience.